As you have probably gathered by now, my husband and I travel quite frequently. We have been taking between 3-4 trips a month! We both have developed the travel bug and have found this activity to be something we really enjoy together. We also recognize that traveling can be an extremely pricey and expensive hobby to have! One of the biggest expenses of traveling is easily the flights. However, this doesn’t have to be costly. I wanted to share a few tips I’ve learned about booking affordable flights below.

1-milk-run-mountains-and-glaciers.jpg

(Picture credit https://blog.alaskaair.com/destinations/the-milk-run-flight/)

Kayak – kayak.com searches through multiple airlines and shows you which date and airline would be the cheapest to travel to any given location. The prices change daily so it is important to check the website frequently. Keep in mind that it can also be cheaper booking flights through discounted websites such as Kayak, Trip Advisor or Orbitz rather than the airlines company website.

Credit Cards – Credit cards are a great way to earn air miles. When I was 18 I was able to fly to Peru entirely on earned air miles. I only spend $70 dollars on taxes and fees. For example, Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card has bonuses such as giving 40,000 miles once you spend $3,000 on purchases within 3 months. There are other credit card companies that have similar offers such as the Chase Sapphire Preferred Credit Card and the Discover it Miles Travel Credit Card.

Alaska Airlines Credit Card – I am super excited about this one so I decided to give this card it’s own paragraph even though it fits into the paragraph above. That’s okay, right?! Nick and I fly Alaska and on almost every flight we hear about this credit card so I have to share!

There are loads of benefits to this card but I am only going to talk about the few that I really like. For ever $1 spent you get 1 air mile. So if you pay a $1,000 in rent each month on your card you can essentially earn 1000 airline miles that month too! You also earn 3 miles for every $1 spent Alaska and Virgin America purchases.

But that isn’t the best part! My favorite thing about this card is the companion fare. This allows you to take a companion traveling with you once a year for only $99 plus fees. So instead of paying a thousand dollars to take your spouse to Hawaii you can pay the $99 and that’s it.

Lastly I wanted to throw in a few more details that might make your flight cheaper. For example look at the cheapest day to fly. Typically weekends and holiday are pricey whereas the middle of the week is cheaper.

There are also a few more options such as working for an airline. Many airline employees get discounted or even free flights. If you are adamant about traveling this isn’t a bad way to go!

There are so many options when it comes to booking cheap flights and I just wanted to share these few! Yet, I am curious about what you have found that has helped you book affordable flights? Comment below because I can’t wait to learn something new!

10 thoughts on “How to Book Cheap Flights

  1. These are such great ideas! Thank you for sharing them 🙂 apparently, airlines tend to put their tickets on sale on Tuesday morning because website traffic is slow, but I haven’t tried this one…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

