As someone who graduated with a degree in political science, I hate politics. A few weeks ago I posted a status on Facebook about something I appreciated. I did not intend to start the political rant in the chain of comments that followed. The strongest and most passionate opinions were from my peers – millennials. They were fighting to the death trying to get different points across. As I sat there somewhat irritated that my post had turned political, I became inspired to write…

Nylon-American-Flag-closeup

Millennials and Politics

Let’s start by being honest up front. Millennials LOVE having a loud voice when it comes to politics. I sat in many political sciences classes in college where students would argue back and forth due to differences of opinion. We’ve also all seen Twitter, Facebook, Snapchat, and other social media posts fulminating beliefs. I can’t stand it. Millennials want to riot and push their opinions upon everyone else by throwing tantrums in the street or making intense points on any political post they can find online. Well the truth is, ranting online isn’t going to make a difference and here’s why…

During the 2016 Presidential Election only about HALF of all eligible millennial voters actually voted in the election. That rate is much lower than the general voter turnout which usually lies around 58 percent (CIRCLE).

My point is this, millennials spend far too much time talking the talk but never walking the walk. They are so passionate about political policies but when it comes down to it only 50 percent actually chose to vote in the election. If you are someone who feels you need to make an opinionated comment on every political post you find online, stop. You’re not changing the world by doing so. If you want to make a difference get out there and vote. Run for mayor, governor, or senator. Start a non-profit organization supporting your beliefs. Go talk to your local governing officials and present your opinions there. Do something proactive rather than trying to change the world one social media post at a time. 

You’re not going to change the world by posting your opinion online.

 

 

27 thoughts on “Millennials and Politics

  1. Well said, indeed. I firmly believe that if you didn’t vote, you gave up your right to complain about the outcome or government policies put forward by those who won. I’m 66 years old and have not missed voting in any elections, municipal, provincial, or federal. I live in Canada and our voter turnouts are appalling too. I have no use for lazy louts who decide not to vote because they don’t like the candidates. Horsefeathers! This is the way that democracies die – voter apathy. I hope your generation takes your words to heart.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I like your comment ” if you didn’t vote, you gave up your right to complain about the outcome or government policies put forward by those who won.” I’m glad you agree. It’s amazing you’ve voted in that many elections. I’m glad you love your country and I hope by the time I’m 66 I can say I’ve voted in as many elections as you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Emilie … there are also many Americans who have voted in every election over the course of their lives. I’m one of them. For 35 years now. And I think most of my friends and colleagues who are of the same age would likely say the same thing, but there are plenty who haven’t.

        I do agree that if you don’t vote you have no right to complaint about the outcome …

        But …

        I also understand why people may decide it’s not worth the bother. We have two big political parties that claim to care about the common man, about the little guy, about addressing our needs as both individuals and as a society. And after years and decades, we see that the benefits of our country and our economy go in ever increasing amounts to an ever decreasing number of people. And one begins to wonder … why bother voting. Nothing changes.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m not a millennial. I’m a Gen-X’er. So I can speak more accurately about my age group with more legitimacy, and tell you that we aren’t any better. And remember, the millennials are our kids. We didn’t, as a generation, give them a very good example.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I couldn’t agree more. Shouldn’t matter what génération one identifies with. All should exercise the right to vote, to speak up, and to speak out. I’m a Gen-X guy, but we didn’t have kids til we were in our mid to late 30’s, so my boys are only 14 and 12 year old twins. But I can assure you, they are being raised to be aware of politics, societal issues, and to know how vital it is to not only vote and be heard, but to speak in their own words. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Too many distractions created by modern technology, little interest in learning about the issues, just not that into it. And there is also the reality that they are both very different than me. I don’t think it is intentional, but they are drawn away from my interests and towards others.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I was going to add the same. I’m a GenX and can see a lot of the same trends that Emilie sees in the Millenials. Maybe all generations behave the same we just see it more clearly now because of social media. Emilie, you are absolutely correct. People need to vote. But they also need to read and pay attention. It is striking to me how little we know about important issues of the day.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I went to college 40 years ago and it was no different. We would sit up all night and argue about politics and then I’m sure the voting percentage was about the same. Many of the loudest voices had’t even registered to vote or didn’t know where their polling places were. I know the choices are sometimes pretty limited and that we sometimes get cheated out of the value of our vote be gerrymandering, but you still can’t disenfranchise yourself.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I find it to be very true that the loudest, most obnoxious voices are usually the least educated, and the least motivated. More than likely this has always been the case to some extent. I think they call it arrogance, and being full of one’s self. 😉 But yes, I do believe it is getting worse, and that social media kind of helps it grow. After all, now everyone can hear you…not just your poor family and friends!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. as the parent of two “millenials” I find it refreshing that you have the clarity to call your fellows out of this. I think you are a generation that has the potential for greatness but are too into immediate gratification. True change takes time, and patience. Keep up the good work

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I was just as convinced that I was absolutely right about everything when I was in my teens and early 20’s as well (I’m 37 now). I think that is common for that age group. For millennials, they have the addition of smartphones and social media to encourage them in the belief that they both can, and should be, heard. I thought for sure that their belief about the importance of their individual voices would result in massive voter turnout in that age group. I guess I was wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

